RISD

I have just returned from a most excellent summer of coursework at the Summer Institute for Graphic Design Studies at Rhode Island School of Design, located in Providence.  Providence is a lovely city, with a fantastic art school to boot.  It taught me not only a tremendous amount of design, but also that most of my clothes are frighteningly out of style (although apparently my favorite color of nail polish is now in!), that I should use rounded corners whenever possible, and that I won’t be considered a real artist unless I carry and “art bin”, which is basically a plastic toolbox marketed to artists.

One of my classes, Identity Design, has allowed me a long-awaited opportunity to brand a local anti gas drilling organization called NEPA Gas Action.

My professor encouraged me to go with a gritty, grassroots, newspaper-headline sort of look.  I’m pleased with it.  Now to purchase some tighter pants and angular glasses.   (Why are graphic designers so often distinguished by the glasses that they wear?)

Oh, I took the poster to a press conference yesterday, and was quoted in today’s Times-Leader!

Leave a Reply

