The Growth of Industrial Art

Every Monday night I monitor the computer lab at Keystone College for six hours. I began doing this when the logic board in my 2007 Macbook Pro bit the dust* a couple of months ago and I desperately needed to meet a deadline. The folks here at Keystone were super nice to me and offered me not only use of their computer lab, but also an adjunct teaching position for next semester. šŸ™‚

*Turns out that this is a common problem: failure of the NVIDIA GPU in these 2007 models. Apple, of course, would not give me phone support without relieving my debit card of $50. Thankfully my friends in California were more generous with their knowledge, and figured out the problem without me ever having to talk to Apple. When I took the computer to a certified Apple whatever-those-places-are-called (not a genius bar, the other one), they ran some tests, confirmed the problem, and proceeded to spend 2 weeks fixing it (a $1200 repair)Ā for FREE. Not all that bad of an experience, plus, that’s how I wound up here in this computer lab with a new job! But that leads me to a topic that will probably appear in an upcoming blog post… the Hackintosh.

Anyway, back to the sitting in the computer lab part. I usually spend this time working on a project that pays me. Or shopping online for sparkly cocktail dresses. Not the case tonight. Instead, I have decided to scan 26 pages of beautiful (or strange) illustrations from a book that I picked up at a local flea market and share them with the world. The book is The Growth of Industrial Art, and none of the illustrations within date more recently than 1892. So, graphic artists, you know what that means…. PUBLIC DOMAIN! (I know just mentioning those words in this post will get my blog a ton of hits, so I’m going to say it some more.Ā PUBLIC DOMAINĀ PUBLIC DOMAINĀ PUBLIC DOMAIN.)

Also, this book is huge, and has really put theĀ Epson Perfection 10000XL that I’ve been scanning it with through it’s paces. Some of the images are cut off at the edges. Oh well. Please enjoy, and if you plan on having your way with these images, at least think about dropping a dollar into the Paypal account of the poor starving artist who slaved over the hot scanner to share these with you.

Leave a Reply

