my favorite science lies

When I was a little kid, my dad captured a big bullfrog and put it in an aquarium for me to see. The next day, when I tried to visit the bullfrog, he had been released and replaced with a tiny tree frog. My dad told me that the bullfrog had shrunk because I had neglected to feed it.

The natural history world is full of accomplished liars… I go to school with some of them. Scientists lie because they think it’s the truth (geology), because they’ve poured years of their lives into an idea and they want other people to believe them (Haeckel), because they don’t know the answer (*cough*), because someone pays them to lie (the PA DEP?), or because they just want to screw around with people. The last reason is my favorite.

Without further adieu, I bring you two “nature” videos from naturalist, professor, artist, and friend, Bryan Pfeiffer.

If you’re into this sort of thing (lying) (I know I am), the Look Around You series could also be entertaining.

Leave a Reply

